If you teach University of Edinburgh medical undergraduates, then our Clinical Educator Programme (CEP) is for you.

CEP is a free programme of workshops* focused on medical education.

All our workshops are CPD accredited by the Royal Colleges.

Mission Statement

The Clinical Educator Programme develops and supports a faculty of medical educators within South East Scotland to promote, deliver and maintain excellence in undergraduate and postgraduate medical education in line with the UK Professional Standards Framework and the General Medical Council Recognition of Trainers’ requirements.

Our Programme is mapped to the UK Professional Standards Framework.

You can find more information about the UKPSF on the HEA's website.

* Within South East Scotland only. Charges apply for anyone who wishes to participate in the Programme and teaches outwith South East Scotland. Please contact cep@ed.ac.uk for more information.

Programme Team & Faculty

Director: Ms Debbie Aitken

Tutors: Mr Ian Lee, Dr Maia Forrester

Administrators: Mrs Fiona Willox, Mrs Femke Morrison, Mr Robert Dow, Ms Katie Leith

IT Consultant: Mr Alan Gilchrist

Teaching Observation Tutors: Mr Carl Ronan, Dr Frances Parry

Faculty Members: Dr Karen Adamson, Dr Susie Chater, Dr Fiona Clunie, Dr Ruth Cruickshank, Professor Jamie Davies, Dr Al Dewar, Dr Anna Dover, Dr Simon Edgar, Dr Karen Fairhurst, Dr Jane Gibson, Dr Jenny Hanslip, Dr Alan Jaap, Dr Lorna Jackson, Dr Ingo Johannessen, Dr Matt King, Professor David Kluth, Dr Alastair Leckie, Dr Jane MacNab, Dr Marie Mathers, Dr Jackie Maybin, Dr Pauline McConville, Dr Ed Mellanby, Dr Queenie Menezes, Dr Hannah Monaghan, Dr James Morrison, Dr Latana Munang, Dr Freda Newlands, Dr Norman Nuttall, Dr Joanna Pickles, Dr Rhiannon Pugh, Dr John Russell, Dr Euan Sandilands, Dr Neelom Sharma, Dr Janet Skinner, Dr Andrew Storey, Dr James Tiernan, Dr Wendy Wighton-Benn, Dr Pamela Winton, Dr Morwenna Wood

Associate Faculty Members: Dr Gavin Brown, Dr Effie Dearden, Dr Kyle Gibson, Dr Elly Hampton, Dr Chenai Mautsi, Dr Dalitso Mwandumba, Dr Jamie Nicolson, Mr Nathan Oliver, Dr Thom O’Neill, Dr Chris O’Shea, Dr Chris Schneike-Kind, Dr Neil Wicks

Honorary Faculty Members: Mr Bryan Allan, Dr Avril Dewar, Revd Dr Harriet Harris MBE, Dr Dave Hope, Ms Lorraine Close, Mrs Kirsty Egan, Mrs Janet Gardiner, Mrs Janette Jamieson, Mrs Val McDowell, Dr Fred Pender, Mrs Jean Tennant


  1. We're now using Twitter for sharing all our latest news!
    To keep up to date on events, award nominations and all important news from CEP and SEFCE, please follow CEP on Twitter @CEP_UofE.
    read more
  2. SEFCE Teaching Awards 2018 Nominations open
    Have you been inspired by a clinical teacher recently or do you wish to nominate your Personal Tutor or CTA for an award? If so we are pleased to anno...
    read more
  3. SEFCE Teaching Awards 2018
    Coming soon - nominations for this year's awards Watch this space
    read more
show all